011-40705070  or  
Call me
Download our Mobile App
Select Board & Class
  • Select Board
  • Select Class

 Explain how animals in vertebrates are classified into further sub-group?


Asked by Soaham(THE ORCHID SCHOOL) , on 11/3/15


Atl the sub groups are different from each other

Posted by Mohit Gupta(D A V CENTENARY PUBLIC SCHOOL) on 11/1/13

View More Answer

Animals in Vertebrata are classified into five classes:

(i) Class Pisces: This class includes fish such as Scoliodon, tuna, rohu, shark, etc. These animals mostly live in water. Hence, they have special adaptive features such as a streamlined body, presence of a tail for movement, gills, etc. to live in water.

(ii) Class Amphibia: It includes frogs, toads, and salamanders. These animals have a dual mode of life. In the larval stage, the respiratory organs are gills, but in the adult stage, respiration occurs through the lungs or skin. They lay eggs in water.

(iii) Class Reptilia: It includes reptiles such as lizards, snakes, turtles, etc. They usually creep or crawl on land. The body of a reptile is covered with dry and cornified skin to prevent water loss. They lay eggs on land.

(iv) Class Aves: It includes all birds such as sparrow, pigeon, crow, etc. Most of them have feathers. Their forelimbs are modified into wings for flight, while hind limbs are modified for walking and clasping. They lay eggs.

(v) Class Mammalia: It includes a variety of animals which have milk producing glands to nourish their young ones. Some lay eggs and some give birth to young ones. Their skin has hair as well as sweat glands to regulate their body temperature.

hope this helps you....

Posted by Rishika Singh(k v no 1 chennai) on 12/1/13


I think , vertebrates are further classified on the basis of level and complexity  of  body design .

Posted by Swathion 16/1/13


give little small anwers

Posted by Yashi(AKSHARA INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL) on 3/12/13

Add Your Answer

Show More Questions