Can you explain the full process of meiosis 1?

Dear Student,

Here is the answer to your question,

Meiosis I
  • Meiosis I is divided into 4 phases.
  • Prophase I − longest phase and is further sub-divided into 5 phases
    • Leptotene − Condensation makes chromosomes become distinct and compact.
    • Zygotene − Homologous chromosomes start pairing together by a process called synapsis to form a complex structure called synaptonemal complex. Two synaptonemal complexes further form a complex called bivalent of tetrad.
    • Pachytene − Longest phase of prophase I
      Recombination nodules appear in this stage at the sites where crossing over has to take place between non-sister chromatids of homologous chromosomes.
    • Diplotene − Synaptonemal complex dissolves and recombinants separate from each other except at crossover sites to form X-shaped structure called chiasmata.
    • Diakinesis − Chiasmata terminalises and chromosomes condense. Mitotic spindle assembles and nucleolus and nuclear envelope disappear.
  • Metaphase I − Bivalent chromosomes align on the equatorial plate and spindle fibres appear and attach to the homologous chromosomes.
  • Anaphase I − Homologous chromosomes separate; sister chromatids remain attached at their centromeres.
  • Teleophase I − Nuclear membranes and nucleolus reappear. Cytokinesis follows.
  • Interkinesis − Stage between meiosis I and meiosis II
Hope this helps,
All the best !!

  • 12

this answer is really helpful......thnks 4 the help....

  • 0
What are you looking for?