describe d feature of election system in india

Universal   Adult  franchise

Single Member Constituencies

Reservation Of Seats(SC&ST& WOMEN)

Election Petition

Evry Citizen Has Equal Right

  • -6

Some methods of reforms in electoral system can be as follows:

  • Making false declarations in connection with election to be an offence.
  • The candidate should contest from only one constituency and if not then such candidates should deposit Rs.500000 to Rs1000000 to bear bye election expenditure. The security deposit has to be increased to discourage non serious candidates.
  • The person who is accused of serious criminal offences should be kept away from electoral arena.
  • Transparency in public life improves transparency in elections. So, contesting candidate must disclose his assets, liabilities, convicted and pending cases against him.
  • Introducing two ballot system and negative vote system would discourage criminal elements from being elected.
  • 9

Features of Election System in India

In India, we have indirect democracy. The government is run by the representatives who are elected by the people. To elect their representatives, elections are held from time- to-time. The main features of election system in India are as under:

  i.  Universal adult franchise:

In India, elections are held on the basis of Universal Adult Franchise. Every citizen who has completed 18 years of age has been given the right to vote irrespective of his caste, religion, etc.

  ii.  Single member constituencies:

It means that the country (or a state) is divided into as many constituencies as the number of seats. One representative is elected from each constituency.

  iii.  Secret ballot:

In India, elections are held by secret ballot. Nobody except the voter himself knows in favour of which candidate, he/she has voted.

  iv.  Joint electorate:

Before independence, the Britishers had introduced separate communal electorate in India. This proved very harmful for the unity of the country and was one of the main factors for the partition of the country (into India and Pakistan) in 1947.

Under our new Constitution, joint electorate has been introduced. It means that in a constituency, all the voters irrespective of their caste, creed or religion elect only one representative. There is no Hindu, Muslim or Sikh representatives or Constituencies.

  v.  Reservation of seats for scheduled castes and scheduled tribes:

In all the elected bodies-Panchayats, Municipal Committees, Legislative Assemblies and even in Parliament-certain seats are reserved for scheduled castes and tribes. Under present conditions, this will be in force till 25th January, 2010. Currently in the Lok Sabha, 79 seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 41 for Scheduled Tribes.

In the Panchayat and Nagarpalika elections one-third of the seats are reserved for women candidates. In state legislatures also, seats are reserved for the members of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes. Inspired by the success of this system women's movement has been demanding reservation for women in State Legislative Assemblies and Parliament.

  vi.  Election petition:

If any voter or a candidate feels that the election in his constitu­ency has not been conducted fairly, he can file an election petition in the court against that election. If the court finds that the charges leveled against that election are true, it can set aside that election.

 vii.  Election commission:

For the smooth, fair and impartial conduct of elections the Constitution provides for an Election Commission. It consists of Chief Election Commissioner and some other members. At present, it has one Chief Election Commissioner (B.B. Tandon) and two other members.


  • 15

 India has an asymmetric federal government, with elected officials at the federal, state and local levels. At the national level, the head of governmentPrime Minister, is elected by the members of Lok Sabha, lower house of the parliament of India.[1] All members of Lok Sabha except two, who can be nominated by president of India, are directly elected through general elections which takes place every five years, in normal circumstances, by universal adult suffrage.[2] Members of Rajya Sabha, upper house of Indian parliament, are elected by elected members of the legislative assemblies of states and electoral college for Union Territories of India.[3]

In 2009, the elections involved an electorate of 714 million[4] (larger than both EU and US elections combined[5]). Declared expenditure has trebled since 1989 to almost $300 million, using more than one million electronic voting machines.[6]

The size of the huge electorate mandates that elections be conducted in a number of phases (there were four phases in 2004 General Elections and five phases in2009 General Elections). It involves a number of step-by-step processes from announcement of election dates by the Election Commission of India, which brings into force the 'model code of conduct' for the political parties, to the announcement of results and submission of the list of successful candidates to the executive head of the state or the centre. The submission of results marks the end of the election process, thereby paving way for the formation of the new government.


  • -4
who used the salogan protect the self respect of the telgus
  • -10
  • -6

Hope dis helps u!!!!
  • 4
You have given now
  • -3
  • -1
What are you looking for?