explain different parts of a flower with its function

Dear student,

Structure of China rose flower

A flower usually consists of four main parts.

  • Sepals

They are the small, leaf-like green structures of a flower. They can be clearly distinguished as separate structures in flowers such as rose, marigold, etc. However, sepals are found to be fused in flowers such as periwinkle, Hibiscus, etc.

  • Petals

They are the brightly colored, prominent parts of an open flower.

Stamens and pistils are the two reproductive parts of flowers.

  • Stamens

They are the male reproductive parts of plants. They can vary in number. A stamen is divided into two parts: anther and filament.

Stamens can be free, such as those present in Hibiscus, pea, marigold, etc., or they can be joined to petals, such as those in Datura, potato, sunflower, etc. The anther contains a number of pollen grains.

  • Pistils

They are the female reproductive parts of plants. They are present in the innermost parts of flowers. They consist of three parts: stigma, style, and ovary.

An ovary is the lowermost, swollen part of the pistil. It contains one or many small, bead-like structures called ovules. These ovules are attached to the ovary wall with the help of structures called placenta.

These ovules develop into seeds, and the entire ovary (containing the ovules) develops into a fruit.


  • 0
What are you looking for?