Explain the four Vedas.

The Vedas are a large body of texts originating in ancient India. Composed in Vedic Sanskrit, the texts constitute the oldest layer of Sanskrit literature and the oldest scriptures of Hinduism.

There are 4 veda's

♦ Rigveda

♦ Samaveda

♦ Atharvaveda

♦ Yajurveda

  1. The Rigveda, containing hymns to be recited by the hotar, or presiding priest;
  2. The Yajurveda, containing formulas to be recited by the adhvaryu or officiating priest;
  3. The Samaveda, containing formulas to be sung by the udgatar or priest that chants;
  4. The Atharvaveda, a collection of spells and incantations, apotropaic charms and speculative hymns.[9]

  • 2





  • 0

There are four vedas .-

1 .Rigveda

2 . SAmaveda

3 . Atharvaveda

4 . Yajurveda

Among these Rigveda is the oldest veda . It was first composed 3500 years ago .

  • 1

The oldest rigveda composed about 3500 years ago.it includes more than a thousand hymns called sukta or well said.these hymns are in phrase of various god and goddesses three gods are. Agni=. The god of fire

Indra=. The warrior god. Soma=. A plant from which a spe

  • 0
What are you looking for?