Explain the types of meiosis

Meiosis: Meiosis is the reductional cell division in which diploid (double set) number of chromosomes is reduced to haploid (single set) number.

Meiosis has two different phases – meiosis I and meiosis II.

Meiosis I is reduction division which produces two haploid cells. The steps of meiosis I can be further differentiated as Prophase I, Metaphase I, Anaphase I, Telophase I.

 Meiosis II is the equational division which produces total of four haploid cells from the two resulting meiosis I cells by the process of mitosis. During formation of male and female gametes in organisms meiosis occurs. The divisions of meiosis II are Prophase II, Metaphase II, Anaphase II and Telophase II.  

  • 0

The types of meiosis are 
1 ) Zygotic meiosis - Zygote is diploid and Meiosis occurs at the time of zygote germination to produce haploid gametophyte .

2 ) Gametic Meiosis - the diploid sporophyte when produces gametes the diploid gamete mother cell undergo meiosis to produce haploid gametes .

3 ) Sporic meiosis - It occurs in a diploid sporophyte at the time of spore formation .
Diploid spore mother cells undergo meiosis to form haploid spores .

  • 1

Hello Dear!

My name is Kate,

I saw your profile and would like to get in touch with you If you're

interested in me too then please send me a message as quickly as possible.




  • 0
What are you looking for?