011-40705070  or  
Call me
Download our Mobile App
Select Board & Class
  • Select Board
  • Select Class
Preeti Arora , asked a question
Subject: Social Science , asked on 30/8/12

give an account of the Northern Plains of India


Shushrita Das , Meritnation Expert added an answer, on 31/8/12

According to the variations in relief features, the Northern plains can be divided into four regions.

  • The rivers, after descending from the mountains deposit pebbles in a narrow belt of about 8 to 16 km in width lying parallel to the slopes of the Shiwaliks. It is known as bhabar. All the streams disappear in this bhabar belt.
  • South of this belt, the streams and rivers re-emerge and create a wet, swampy and marshy region known as terai. This was a thickly forested region full of wildlife.
  • The largest part of the northern plain is formed of older alluvium. They lie above the flood plains of the rivers and present a terrace like feature. This part is known as bhangar.
  • The soil in this region contains calcareous deposites locally known as kankar. The newer, younger deposits of the flood plains are called khadar. They are renewed almost every year and so are fertile, thus, ideal for intensive agriculture.

This conversation is already closed by Expert

  • Was this answer helpful?
  • 40
71% users found this answer helpful.
View More
Prince Sonwani , added an answer, on 8/7/12
36 helpful votes in Social Science

The northern plains are one of the most important features of the physiography of india.

:- it has been performed by the 3 major river 1:Indus, 2:Ganga, 3:Brahmaputra .

:-The northern plain are about 2400 km long and 240 to 320 km broad.

:-It is the most densly populated physiography division .

:-Agriculturally it is the most productive area because of rich soil cover , odequate water supply and favourable climate.

:-The northern plains are classified into 4 sections due to the different relif : Bhabar , Terai , Bhangar , Khadar.

  • Was this answer helpful?
  • 36
83% users found this answer helpful.
Anusha Jayakrishnan , added an answer, on 1/9/11
46 helpful votes in Social Science

Northern plains of India :
(i) They are formed by the alluvial deposits of the rivers and their tributaries.
(ii) They extend from Sutluj river in the west to Brahmputra in the east.
(iii) They are divided into three parts :
(i) Indus plain (ii) Gaga plain (iii) Brahmputra plain.

Plains of northern India, a flat and enormous plain, extend in the east west direction between the Himalayan in the north and Great Indian Peninsular Plateau in the south. These plains form an unbroken belt of alluvium varying in thickness from east Bihar Plain to Punjab and northern Rajasthan . Sutlej Plain in the west, the Ganga Plain in the middle, the Ganga Delta and the Brahmaputra Valley in the east constitute the northern plains. These are among the largest plains of the world. The desert in the west of the Aravalli Mountain Ranges being largely a plain formed partly by corrosion and partly by deposition is also included in the plains of Northern India. These plains continue to the west beyond Punjab and Rajasthan and merge into the Indus Plains in neighbouring country Pakistan. The Northern Plains, also known as the Gangetic Plains, is situated in the southern Himalayan Region. The Northern Plains spreading from Assam to Punjab, has a length of around 2400 km and the width ranges between 150 km to 300 km, varying in different regions. It can be found in Bihar, Punjab, Assam , West Bengal , Uttar Pradesh , parts of Delhi and Haryana .

  • Was this answer helpful?
  • 7
59% users found this answer helpful.