state and define different kinds of coal

Dear Student,
There are four types of coal:
1) Anthracite: It is the best kind of coal. It is hard, brittle and lustrous. It has high percentage of carbon and very small amount of moisture.
2) Bituminous: Bituminous coal is a soft, dense, black coal. Bituminous coal often has bands of bright and dull material in it. Bituminous usually has a high heating value.
3) Lignite: Lignite is brownish black, has a high moisture content (up to 45 %), and a high sulphur content. It is a low grade with very less amounts of carbon.
4) Peat: Decaying plants in swamps produce peat, which has low carbon content and high moisture content. It is widely used as a domestic fuel.

  • 1
What are you looking for?