Select Board & Class


Molecular Basis of Inheritance


  • A nucleotide contains three components –
  1. Nitrogenous base
  2. Pentose sugar
  3. Phosphate group
  • Nucleoside contains a nitrogenous base linked to pentose sugar.
  • Two types of nitrogenous bases –
  1. Purine – Adenine and guanine
  2. Pyrimidine – Cytosine, uracil and thymine
  • The nitrogenous bases present in DNA are adenine, cytosine, thymine and guanine. In RNA, thymine is replaced by uracil.
  • Polynucleotide chain is formed when more than two nucleotides are linked together through 3’ – 5’ phosphodiester linkages.

DNA (Deoxyribonucleic acid)

  • DNA is a double-helical structure wi…

To view the complete topic, please

What are you looking for?