Select Board & Class


The Reproductive System

Modes of reproduction

Human beings reproduce sexually and are viviparous.

In humans, the reproductive phase starts after puberty. It involves:

  • Gametogenesis
  • Insemination
  • Fertilisation
  • Implantation
  • Gestation
  • Parturition

The Male Reproductive System

  • It is located in the pelvic region.

  • It consists of:

    • A pair of testes

    • Accessory glands and ducts

    • External genitalia


  • Situated within the scrotum, which protects the testes and also helps in maintaining the temperature.

  • Each testis is 4 to 5 cm in length, and 2 to 3 cm in width, and has about 250 compartments called testicular lobules.

  • Testicular lobules have seminiferous tubules which are the sites of sperm formation.

  • Seminiferous tubules are lined by two types of cells:

    • Male germ cells − They undergo meiosis to form sperms.

    • Sertoli cells − They provide nourishment to the germ cells.

  • Region outside the seminiferous tubules is called the interstitial space, which contains Leydig cells (interstitial cells). The Leydig cells produce androgens.
  • Apart from producing sperms, testes also produce a hormone called testosterone. This hormone is responsible for the development of male sex organs like penis and testes. It also brings about secondary sex characteristics in boys during puberty.

To view the complete topic, please

What are you looking for?