figure of different stages of meiosis

  • Specialized kind of cell division that reduces the chromosome number by half (thus called reductional division) resulting in production of haploid daughter cells (gametes)

  • Haploid gametes fuse in sexual reproduction to give rise to diploid cells.

  • Meiosis I starts after DNA has been replicated in S phase. Meiosis I is followed by meiosis II at the end of which four haploid cells are formed.

    Meiosis I

    Meiosis II

  • 2
What are you looking for?