JEE Advanced Cut Offs

Candidates who qualify the JEE Mains and make to the Common Merit List register themselves for the next crucial exam of an engineering aspirant’s life: JEE Advanced. This year approximately 12 lakh candidates from over 350 centers across India appeared for Papers 1 and 2 of the JEE Advanced exam.

The IITs give their specific qualifying marks in JEE Advanced to get admission in their undergraduate engineering programs. This qualifying scheme is called MQMR or Minimum Qualifying Marks for Ranking. Candidates who score more than these minimum marks are eligible for the Common Merit List of JEE Advanced.

The specified cut off for JEE Advanced is calculated by JEE authorities on a basis of number of factors, such as:

  1. Previous Year’s cutoff,
  2. Number of applicants for the exam,
  3. Number of available seats in IITs and their annual intake, and
  4. Difficulty level of the exam.

The Qualifying Marks for JEE Advanced in the past few years are stated below:






Common Merit List (CML) 152 124 152
Other Backward Classes (OBC-NCL) 117 112 117
Scheduled Castes (SC) 74 62 74
Scheduled Tribes (ST) 63 62 63
PwD 63 62 63
Preparatory Course 53 31 53

Important Resources:All institutes also release their own JEE Advanced cutoffs, for different courses depending on the number of applicants for them. The institutes correspond to the Closing Ranks of those courses.

JEE 2016 Study Material  JEE 2016 Test Series  JEE 2016 Revision Notesjee advanced 2016 preparation tips  jee advanced 2016 sample papers  jee advanced solutions for past year papers  JEE ADVANCED 2016 Past Paper Analysis  JEE ADVANCED Answer Key  jee advanced 2016 best books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *